Culinary Biography

Oh! Look, that’s me right there. I totally missed out on introducing myself, my name is Michelle Anne Chea and that’s a picture of me! I’ve been born and brought up in India, in a beautiful City called the “City Of Joy”, also known a2016-05-11-21-06-45-829s Kolkata. This is my first time in Canada and I am just coping with the Canadian way of life.

10487486_495000090634941_1745084852628123476_n

Ever since I was a kid I loved food, I still do! Seeing my grandmother cook and coming up with recipes of her own and how delicious they used to taste, I grew up to love cooking and it has been a part of me ever since. I joined this industry with the aspiration of becoming a chef. The penchant for the services sector has urged me to gain significant excellence which will help me to reach the goals I have set for myself. This has led me to pursue Culinary Management at the George Brown College in Toronto, which would ultimately help me to understand several aspects of how administration enhances the whole quality of service and become a renowned chef, that I aspire to be. 

Currently I do not work, but I did have the privilege of working with Radisson Royal Hotel, presently known as Nassima Royal Hotel in Dubai, as a part of my internship. This helped me understand the nuances of Food and Beverage industry for the six months I spent there. I gained additional experience by working in the various sections of the kitchen and the nitty-gritty of working towards successful banquets.

My philosophy on food would be to use whatever is available to you. To make the most of the resources that are accessible and they don’t necessarily need to be exotic. Just good food that makes you want to remember it always.  Like Julia Child says – “You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients”(“A quote by Julia Child”).

“A quote by Julia Child.” Goodreads. N.p., n.d. Web. 16 May 2017. www.goodreads.com/quotes/118657-you-don-t-have-to-cook-fancy-or-complicated-masterpieces

 “The more you know, the more you can create. There’s no end to imagination in the kitchen.”

– Julia Child (Gilbert and Moore).

Gilbert, Lynn, and Gaylen Moore. Particular Passions: Julia Child. United States: Lynn Gilbert, 1981. Print.

“Julia Child.” AZQuotes.com. Wind and Fly LTD, 2017. 15 May 2017. http://www.azquotes.com/quote/489241

I most definitely do follow food blogs. But Lorraine Elliot Aboutis my favorite among them all. Ever since I started following her blog Not Quite Nigella, I’ve kept an eye out for the works she does. She inspires me in so many ways, right from her cooking skills to the new dishes she comes up with. It is so amazing to see all the posts she makes, it is such an enriching experience, more like food for the soul. Some of her creations include cheese blintzes, fettucine crepes suzettenutella gozleme etc., which have fancy names but are so easy to work on. The fact that she makes recipes that one can easily try at home, and the ingredients are readily available at any supermarket makes her recipes a success (Elliott).

Elliott, Lorraine. “Lorraine Elliott.” Not Quite Nigella. N.p., n.d. Web. 16 May 2017. www.notquitenigella.com

I’m not much of a blogger, but I hope blogging will enable a continuous learning experience for me as well as for people reading my blog.  So, keep looking me up, cause there will always be something new coming up on my blog peeps! 

Leave a Reply

